I’m getting there… baby steps

After years of critiquing myself, I think I’m finally on the right track. I’m starting to morph into the photographer I want to become.

When I first started photographing people I was 18 years old. My hair dresser was the first person to give me a chance. She saw my first landscape film series I shot in Southbank, Brisbane and immediately bought it. The first moment in my photographic journey I felt that my work was appreciated. Shortly after she hired me as her wedding photographer. I had never shot a portrait of a human before. Not to mention a wedding. But she believed in me and to my surprise loved her photos. Today I look at them and see things I could’ve done better. Yet I don’t regret a thing. Life is about learning by doing. Piece by piece, step by step. Thank you Lauren for believing in me. Thank you for letting my journey begin with you.

Now 7 years later I have shot almost 30 weddings, including my own. I took a bit of a break during my studies at university. In 2013 I came to Germany and started to shoot with my husband. Every couple gave me their trust and I am so incredibly thankful for the opportunity to grow. I love my work, but I also criticise it – understandably I am an artist after all. With every wedding I found something to improve on. Something that needed to be done better next time.

Last Saturday was one of my biggest improvements. Before I shot this wedding I coincidentally had a chat with a very talented photographer named Andreas Holm who told me to look at the moments between a pose, between a portrait and to capture the emotions of a moment. And I think this talk stuck with me. I tried my best and looking at the results I can see the difference in my work. Thank you Andreas. You were the first professional to give me constructive critique and with it I learned.

I love soft colours, romantic emotions and beauty captured in the moment. I love pastels and lace. That’s the photographer I want to be. When you think of me I want you to think of those things. Think of me as the romantic kind photographer who shows you your beauty. “In a world where you can be anything… be kind.”

I still have a lot to learn and it might take me a few tries. But baby steps will get me there.

DSC_1117-2DSC_1035

Leave a Reply

